Kontan Online


Jakarta runoff election 101

Wednesday, 19 April 2017 | Yudho Winarto

JAKARTA. Jakarta citizens will once again have the chance to cast their vote for the capital’s next governor and vice governor in the runoff election today.

In this round, the candidates are incumbents Basuki “Ahok” Tjahaja Purnama and Djarot Saiful Hidayat, and their sole competitors Anies Baswedan and Sandiaga Uno.

More than 7.2 million eligible voters are encouraged to come to one of 13,034 polling stations spread across Jakarta to cast their votes.

Citizens can confirm their place in the final voter list (DPT) by visiting the Jakarta General Elections Committee (KPU Jakarta) 

website, kpu.go.id, and enter the 16 digits of their citizen identification numbers (NIK) on the “Voters” tab.

On election day, Jakartans listed on the voter list will be able to cast their ballot at their assigned polling stations from 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. by showing their C6 (voting invitation) form or their ID cards.

Voters will also be allowed to vote at polling stations other than those assigned to them by showing an A5 form or an ID card.   

Meanwhile, those who are not listed on the voter list are allowed to cast their vote after 12 a.m. by showing their KPU Jakarta-issued letter of recommendation (suket).

Source : The Jakarta Post

Reporter: Yudho Winarto
Editor: Yudho Winarto